Flower Friday - it's in the detail

This is a tiny Australian native violet (Viola hederacea) - and I've just planted some plugs in the hope that they will spread to become a good ground cover.  Apparently they are very tough, and will bounce back after the dry season.  We can always hope.

Anyway - one of the plugs already had flowers on it, so I thought (as you do) Flower Friday! 

But what a surprise I got.

Just look at that texture across the lower petals.  I've never seen anything like it before - and it certainly isn't visible to my failing eyesight.  I have exotic violets in the garden as well - that sort you get up there in the North, but this is totally different.

It really is worth a look in large - I think.  The flower itself is about 1cm across and maybe 1 1/2 half cm from top to bottom.  They don't have any scent, which is a shame but when they look like this - well, you can't have everything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.