Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

American Goldfinch

It was a fairly uninspired day, photographically speaking. I was hoping for something a bit more interesting than a perched bird, but I guess her lovely shade of yellow kind of offsets the lack of "wow".  American goldfinches molt twice a year - in the spring they put on their beautiful yellow dating wardrobe, even the females, as seen here.  In the fall, they revert to the more drab pale yellow/olive shades for winter.  This is one of the yellowest females I've seen so far this spring and she was in the company of two fully molted males, both eye-popping yellow.  I put a shot of them in Extra - not a particularly good photo, but gives you a sense of how vivid their colors are.

Two lovely blue eggs in the bluebird box now...very happy landlord.

Had a great long chat with my parents this morning and then  lunch with a friend.  In between I continued to sort photos from the Blip Bash - happy to report that I'm better than half done with the initial sorting/tagging and light edits.  I will need to go back and cull them down further, but at least progress is being made.  

After lunch, I stopped by Home Depot to pick up a few flowering plants.  It's kind of early yet, but I just couldn't stop myself!  Besides, while I was in FL, Hubs decided that my tray of seedlings needed some sun...and they all died!  Honestly, it was pretty funny.  But it also means I need to buy a few flats of seedlings now.  

Heading into the weekend now...

TTFN,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.