Davehjh

By Davehjh

Surprise!

I'm not sure who was more surprised, me, or this lesser black-backed gull!
Gardening this morning, and sitting in the summer house enjoying the spring sunshine after my exercsions when this appeared, just over a metre away from me! I picked up the camera and managed this shot before he (or she, I can't tell) flew into the trellis a couple of metres away and sat there for a while before deciding that I was too much of a threat and flew off.
Earlier in the day the blackbirds were enjoying the fat nibbles, but a commotion in the ivy on our garden wall and the rapid departure of a magpie with something in its mouth suggests that the blackbirds have a nest there and that the magpie has taken one of their chicks!
Nature in the raw...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.