Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

Reinheitsgebot

German Beer Purity Law

The German Beer Purity Law celebrates its 500th birthday today. On 23rd April 1516 William IV and Louis X, Dukes of Bavaria, signed a bill into law, that forbade to use any other ingredients than water, barley, and hops, when producing beer. The Reinheitsgebot therefore is one of the oldest regulations regarding food safety and probably the one with the longest continuity, as it still is in place today (with only minor alterations).

Let's drink to that! (In my case a German lager from the local brewery of my hometown Schlossbrauerei Au i.d. Hallertau. That's a standard 20x0.5L beer crate, by the way.)







"Night gathers, and now my Duff watch begins. It shall not end until my death - or my 13 week option is not picked up. I shall take no wife, hold no lands, and father no children, except for the wife and house and kids I'm already stuck with. I shall wear no other beer's crowns. I am the six-pack hidden in Daddy's secret cabinet, I put the fest in Oktoberfest, and sell for eight bucks at ballparks, though I have nothing to offer but my thuds, hat, and beers, and promotional cosies - for this night and all the nights to come." - (The Simpsons, S26xE17)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.