We Pedaled On Parliament

After years of nagging, Miss Flum finally persuaded us to join the Pedal On Parliament ride. I had told her I was not physically fit enough but she attacked my Brompton with gusto oil and tyre pump to make it ready, so there were no more excuses. And, after all, last week's tramping over cliff tops and climbing spiral staircases, should have improved my fitness just a bit.

So we joined the hundreds of other cyclists, big and tiny, of all description and ability to try to persuade our parliament that, despite all the money they have already spent and pledged, there is still much can be done to make the city safe for cycling. (POP has a manifesto to put these points clearly). 

Of course, it is not just improved infrastructure that is required but a marked improvement in the mindset of drivers - we encountered two simple examples of bad driving on our way home; a car stopped in the advanced stop box, which is placed to allow a cyclist to exit a junction before motorised traffic; and where two cars were parked in a clearly marked cycle lane, necessitating a cyclist to merge with traffic to overtake them. This behaviour creates unnecessary hazards which the infrastructure was designed to eliminate.

Stepping down from my soapbox, I have to say that the exercise on holiday served to improve only muscles which were not the slightest use for pedaling uphill (oh!, my knees!) and I walked most of the way back.

However, Miss Flum is suitably encouraged and may help me find a more appropriate steed by the time of the next POP - should one be necessary... The extra photo is of my bike and Mr Flum lining up in the Meadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.