Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Masses of These

Lunaria/Honesty/Money Plant. I have masses of them since I started throwing their seeds all over the place in the fall. I love a volunteer!!! I'm in favor of an all volunteer garden.

Today started out in a rather annoying fashion when part way into our walk I discovered that A) I had forgotten my iPhone - and thus was incapable of taking some wide landscape shots of the rather nice clouds, and B) the battery in my big camera went dead a few moments later. So - it was an enjoy the walk while carrying one useless and rather heavy camera situation.

But the afternoon turned lovely and clear and breezy. And I also got a lot of mowing done.

For those of you paying attention:

I finally caught sight of the first Ruby-throated Hummingbird of the season - I just turned my head at the exact right moment while eating breakfast, and there he was on the feeder. Whoo hoo!!! I'm sure he's been here for several days at least, but I haven't been looking attentively enough to catch him at the feeder.

And the White-throated Sparrows that Winter with us are still here. They should be leaving soon, but for now I'm enjoying listening to them sing "Oh Sweet Canada, Canada, Canada" out there all day long. Those of you from New England probably hear it as "Oh Sam Peabody, Peabody, Peabody." In any case - they're singing their little hearts out, but they'll be abandoning us soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.