Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Missed the Boat

It was an early drive up to Lochgilphead this morning to collect the lawnmower that was in for repair. I love the Argyll way of doing business in such places. The mower has been fixed, we chat about the weather. The mower is found amongst all the others, we chat about the tourist season. The mower is placed in the back of my vehicle and we talk about the importance of keeping it clean. I ask what the "damage" is and the owner hasn't a clue. His secretary is off as is the mechanic. Sure, the bill will be posted to me. But have you may address, I enquire? No problem I'll take a note of that. Real trustworthy people in these parts, although I'd still rather pay on the spot than be billed weeks later. Never mind, all part of the charm of rural living.

On our way back to Carradale, I was on the lookout for a blip and noticed an interesting looking sky in West Loch Tarbert. Too late to stop at my favourite spot at the top of the loch where I blipped this on the 4th of February. Instead we pulled into the ferry terminal at Kennacraig where the water was like a mill pond. I just love the view down the loch towards the north of Ghia, which was made all the better by the window of blue sky that was reflected on the water. The dark clouds from an earlier shower were slowly dissipating, although they still had a menacing edge.

For me, the only thing missing was the the red, black and white colours of a CalMac ferry coming up the loch, creating great patterns on the water from its bow wave. Still, we can always use our imagination!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.