Picture this..

By northernlass261

Strelizia nicolai

A lovely sunny day with a slight warm breeze.

My Spanish neighbour told me yesterday that the high winds we have been having are gone.   He says, May it is not windy (well we are nearly there).

I have to say he was right today and we have at last been in shorts and tees.   Hopefully the boxes will come down tomorrow to swap some summer/winter clothes over.

On my way back with Holly this morning I noticed this Bird of Paradise.   I had not seen this colour before and took a shot with my phone.   However, my friend at coffee this morning, when I asked about them, directed me to a much larger specimen.   So I set off after I had put the Beef in the oven and found it.   A huge plant, much bigger and with different leaves to the usual orange/purple ones.   

I have seen the plant before, but the flowers are packed right in the middle of it and because of the colour it is difficult to pick them out.   

Perhaps many of you will know of them.

The cover for the Blind is nearly complete, just the fixing to the window to sort now! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.