Lesser Sand Plover(Charadrius mongolus)

A great morning of bird watching and a completely new bird, not this Lesser Sand Plover but a Saunders's Tern(Sternula saundersi)(yet to be verified) a very pretty, delicate Tern in summer plumage and if it is confirmed I will go back tomorrow to see if I can get a better photograph of it. Although, apparently, a common breeding resident on Masirah, I have never seen one here or on Masirah! This sweet little Lesser Sand Plover posed very nicely with his partner and I did wonder if there was a chick about, sadly If there was I didn't see it.
It is getting very hot here so soon I will only be able to go out with my big camera early in the morning or very late afternoon, the temperature has really ramped up. G finished his Art GCSE today, so thank you for all your nice comments-he has only another 9 to go poor chap!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.