ANZAC Day

This is a drawing of an Australian Armed Forces cap badge, shown together with what I believe is the original badge.

The Background.

The drawing has been made by Corporal Cyril Robson Cooper, service number 1530, while in hospital in Johannesburg, South Africa.
The drawing is in the autograph album of my grandmother, who must have been doing her Florence Nightingale routine and visiting sick soldiers on Christmas Day. She was born in Australia and must have felt it a duty to visit the Australian sick.


The Badge.

This is an example of the third pattern (of seven) of the Rising Sun Badge, in use from 1904 to 1949.

I imagine giving one's badge away was not really allowed!

The Man.

I have done extensive research on Cpl Cooper, from archives freely available on the Internet.

Born 1896, signed up when just over 18, and saw active duty in Egypt, France, Belgium, and Africa....and Gallipoli!

The horrendous casualties suffered at Gallipoli included over 4000 deaths of soldiers from Australia and New Zealand and led to the establishment of ANZAC Day.

I have found many pages of his service record and I believe he was suffering from cerebral malaria in Johannesburg hospital.

I do not know why he was in South Africa at the time other than perhaps discharged because of ill health from a ship on route to Australia

He recovered, returned to Australia and eventually died in 1963.

The Next Step.

I have searched long and hard for his descendants but have found nothing. 
I would dearly like to return the badge to the family.

I know he married Alexia Christine Hatrick (I even know what she wore on her wedding day!) and I have seen a letter from her requesting a Gallipoli medallion for " my grandson".


So....if there are any Australians out there who are genealogists and have advice for me, please comment

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.