Ducklings, Squirrels and a Heron!

The forecast was for rain so I went out early this morning and what a treat it was! Just near the top of the track I saw a couple of squirrels leaping about, I think it was two!! One of them perched for a while whilst changed settings on the camera and then it was off again.

Down by the pond I spooked a heron, twice. I got some shots which I've put on Flickr along with the squirrel.

I noticed the outline of a small bird down by the bench that looks onto the reservoir and as I moved towards it flew off. I was going to look for it when I noticed the ducklings and their mum. I only spotted two at first and then I saw another two. She sent the first two onto dry land and then swam a short distant with the  other two. The male was also around overseeing the proceedings from a distance. She seemed very calm and not making a fuss at all. I watched the two on the side for a little and hoped they wouldn't be chased by any dogs or gobbled up by the heron or marsh harrier! Best not to think about it really!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.