Leiflife

By Leiflife

Going Home (Remembering)

I took this just prior to the moon rising from my cousin's pier. I was shooting that graceful bridge with the lovely glow on the water when the little boat appeared...making its way to the harbor and home. It has such a peaceful and comforting feel for me, reminding me of a dance I once choreographed called "Going Home". The dance was to Dvorak's New World Symphony: the Largo. 

Thinking of the dance I remembered some photographs taken by Ann Gallmeyer, with whom I lived for most of the seventies. She was immensely talented, besides being one of the bravest and most intelligent woman I have ever known. Mainly, she was my angel: companion, teacher, and lover. I miss her still... 

Anyway, I got out the photos she took when I was still improvising the dance...before the choreography fixed the gestures into repeatable motifs. They are so fresh that I can feel that day's warm breezes and see my Annie over the heads of the New Orleans school children I was dancing for. She is moving as much as I am, with the rather cumbersome pre-digital camera raised to her lovely face. So I thought I would blip one of those photos as an extra: In memory of Annie...who has gone home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.