Glasgow reflections

Long day with a trip to Glasgow in the afternoon for a seminar about the Brexit and Bremain alternative futures.

The day started off with me trying to get out of a dental appointment, which I'd found in the calendar, by ringing to tell the dentist that it was no longer convenient. Odd, says Mr A, I've got a dental appointment at exactly the same time. Odd, said the dental surgery. We have no record of you having an appointment today. Turned out it **was** Mr A's appointment, entered in our joint calendar, which I ended up thinking was mine. Oh well. That gave me back two hours of my life which seemed to be lost. I duly put them to good use shovelling emails, of course.

It was the first time I've been to Glasgow since the Queen Street tunnel closed. Oh goodness me, it now takes a long time and it's hardly fast at the best of times. Coming into Queen's Street low level was from the west, coming back up the Clyde from Partick after a long loop through the north of Glasgow. Going back was via High Street and then eventually onto the usual line not long before Croy. I was going to stay for dinner in Glasgow, but I got cold feet about how long it would take to get home and how late I was going to get away. Even leaving after the seminar and the reception, it was still gone 9pm before I got home.

Lovely views with the bright evening light from the train on the way back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.