Emphatically NOT recommended!

I had this mad notion to go up Hartside to see if we could spot any of "Lizzie's Bonfires" from the top.

HELL it was cool!
Talk about Penguins' chuffs.
Spare a thought for all brass monkeys.

En route to the top, it looked like it would be a promising Sunset.
Problems abounded.
I set off in T-shirt and shirt, one more layer than usual for me. I knew/guessed it'd be a bit cool so added a sweater on the back seat, I don't like to drive cluttered in thick layers, and a jacket. All were required and I was nearly comfortable. Trouble was I hadn't anticipated a temperature of 4˚C and the wind was a bit "lazy/thin" (about 39˚ to you other lot). I shudder to guesstimate the wind chill factor: my digits were like a set of icicles and I couldn't even see where to stick the shutter release without the side-lights on.

I'll probably have another go sometime but with at least one other layer, a torch (Flashlight to them over there, we haven't called them Flashlights since I was in  single figures) and a pair of fingerless mits. I think I can safely say I was fair nithered.


Ah well - better luck next time.
;¬))
BTW I did see at least one of Lizzies's bonfires, probably Carlisle. I don't think it shows, but at one stage I could see the sun reflected of the Solway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.