Tiny Tuesday - Tradescantia

When I was up at Tupelo Nurseries yesterday, I spotted a ground cover growing on an exposed bank, which looked really interesting.  So I asked the bloke what it was, and it's a Tradescantia sillamontana.  (Once you've practiced saying it a couple of times, it really rolls off the tongue - I like words like that). It's native to Mexico and not terribly common in South Australia, but it's as tough as old boots, and, to my eyes at any rate, much more interesting than your usual Tradescantia.

The leaves are completely covered in white hairs, and there is this sensational cerise coloured tiny flower at the axils of the bracts.  Plus I saw the bees visiting it so it ticked that boxes as well.

He only had one plant and that was completely root bound in a tiny pot, but he was happy to sell it to me for only $6 - bargain!!  I've got at least a dozen  cuttings out of it, and by the looks of, it's really easy to propagate, being virtually a succulent.  It's going to make a terrific ground cover, I just know it is. 

Always supposing I don't kill it first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.