TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

The "Elvis"

"When things go wrong, don't go with them."

~ Elvis Presley

Excellent advice from the King and it stood me in good stead today as I was baking this peanut butter and banana cheesecake that my son had requested for his 21st birthday party.
What I thought was going to be somewhat of a walk in the park turned into a near catastrophe. My first mistake was thinking that I had brown sugar in my pantry when I did not, so I had to make a trip to the grocery store instead of starting the baking process on time. 
When I finally did begin to make the crust, I somehow managed to add double the amount of butter that the recipe called for. That caused a huge problem since it leaked out of the pan onto the bottom of the oven causing a lot of smoke and nearly sparking a fire. 
It was at this point that I realized my mistake and set about trying to fix it without starting all over again. I also had to clean the oven before baking the cheesecake, so...yeah, by now things were going very wrong. I nearly gave up at this point but a little voice inside me (maybe Elvis?) said, just keep moving and continue on. 
I did continue on and the remainder of the baking went well, although the entire process took about 8 hours. At the end of the day (literally), I was pretty pleased with the result. It was a lovely cake and my son really enjoyed it. In fact, he said he would like the same cheesecake for his birthday next year! 

My son is a big Elvis fan and the inspiration for creating this peanut butter and banana cheesecake came from our trip to Graceland in Memphis in June of 2013. We had our lunch that day at Rockabilly's Burger Shop where their specialty is Elvis' favorite grilled peanut butter and banana sandwich.
Graceland is very impressive (and fun), and you can take a quick 3 1/2 minute tour of it (including Rockabilly's Burger Shop) here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4-hvk5cNGH0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.