Madhatter

By Madhatter

Pilgrimage to Changi

The main reason for the trip to Singapore was to visit Changi prison, where my great Uncle, Stanley Warren, was a prisoner of war. Dorsetb has blipped about him before. Uncle Stan, as I know him was a very quiet and gentle man, who I knew as an art teacher who worked with my dad. Just before I was born, the murals which he painted in Changi prison, were rediscovered, and there was a press campaign to find the artist, in the photo above, I'm standing next to a photo of him, and his friend Wally, taken when they came back to restore the murals in the 1990s.

Unfortunately we weren't able to get the appropriate permission to see the actual murals - being a great niece isn't close enough relation, so I broke the rules and took a few photos in the museum.

A day of many Singaporean blips, but these mean the most.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.