FoF

By FoF

A bridge in Drem

Little chance for photo taking today, but I had to collect my husband from the station so I photographed a couple of bridges. This is a dinky well-kept but unmanned station.  The Waverley - North Berwick  branch line is one of the few to avoid the Beeching cuts.  My theory is that there were (as there are now) a lot of civil servants living in East Lothian :)  The road over the bridge is a single lane and twisty; so far I have managed to avoid a car coming the other way.
The station was opened on 22nd June 1846, the same day that the new Edinburgh to Berwick-upon-Tweed line opened. The story goes that local landowning laird gave permission for the railway line to pass through here on the condition that he could ask the London train to halt here.  I wish we could do that, since we have to go to Edinburgh in order to go to London, exactly retracing our journey all the way to Drem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.