jac1954

By jac1954

Reflections on time ~~~~~

For those of you who know me
this is a Hunters watch left to me be my very good friend Richard who passed away February 28th 2015.
This was his fathers watch and he told me many times how his father a butcher in Braintree Essex used to stand with this watch in his waistcoat,
It is not working I asked at a Jewelers along from the Solicitors office
how to wind it up, not sure he said,
how old did he think it might be maybe 50years,
He told me that there was not parts available for things like this
and it would cost around £91.00 pounds to look at.
I said it did not matter and bid him farewell.
Richard died at almost 102 years,this was his father's watch so it has to be older than 50years eh!
We looked it up on the internet being made in 1924
made in Canada using Rolex parts,Richards one was made in Ipswich made with Rolex parts . Called a Moon Hunter.
The jeweler told me he did not think the chain was gold even ,but when I got home saw it had it printed in the chains and links 9ct rose gold.
but as I say it is not working although it was when Richard last showed it to me.
when I went to the solicitors to pick this up they first gave me an wrist 
watch . No I said it is a pocket watch . so they brought out two others one was what Richard was given in the war. No I said.
then they brought out the real one, I just wonder some times.
hope your weathers are good for all you Blippers ours is very changable
sun sleet wind hailstones cloud xx right old mix.
extra of front of watch.
Thank you Richard I love it anyway will make one of my bears a waistcoat to put it in xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.