People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Mysterious Music Man

Our Landscape Architecture department celebrated 50th anniversary this year. To commemorate, we had a great party in the evening. Before that, the LA courtyard was officially "unveiled", and with it, a grove dedicated to Glen Cook, one of the faculty who recently died of cancer. As we both worked there part time, we shared an office. Glen had a wonderful, self-depreciating sense of humor, and a great love for his job. He deeply cared about students, but their occasional slacking infuriated him to no end. I sometimes found notes on the keyboard that read: "Student will bring in a late project. Give him hell, and accept for grading."

Needless to say, I was a bit bummed when I arrived at the party, and the idea of having to mingle for the next 3 hours was a bit overwhelming. So I happily positioned myself in the back of the room, right next to the Music Man, and kept the wine coming. I had no idea who he was, but was impressed with his talent and repertoire. Whatever artist I asked for, I got. I stumped him only once: I asked for Louis Armstrong. "I will have to think about it", said my Music Man. Sure enough, two songs later came "Georgia on my mind".

Two weeks later, quite accidentally, I found out the identity of my Music Man: Dr. Bill Cooke, Professor and Department Head of the Geosciences Department. Who knew....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.