The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

At Last!

When I last went into Bath on 19th June new parking restrictions meant that I had to return to the car before I could get to the Apple store to make my iPad interrogations. A month later I have now made a second trip specifically to pick their brains about 4G and the like, and to investigate the iMac, as my Windows XP laptop seems to be in terminal decline. This time I chose a Sunday to escape the evil clutches of Bath's regulatory systems.

Having learned what I needed to know I strolled back into the city centre with my pair of Pentaxes. There was no sign of the peregrine falcons nesting at the church of St John The Evangelist, but four or five churchyard cats sunning themselves behind the building, too lazy to protest at my presence except through frosty glares. It was a bright day and many people were enjoying the path beside the River Avon near North Parade Bridge, including an artist who allowed me to photograph him as he painted the bridge.

I drove back via the steeply winding Brassknocker Hill, which I always enjoy, and noticing a parking spot near the bridge over the Kennet and Avon on Winsley Hill I pulled over and stopped. Reaching the canal I set off on the towpath in the direction of Avoncliff, and had not got very far when I noticed a grey heron poised in front of me on the opposite bank.

As you may know, it has been an ambition of mine for a couple of years to get a decent heron picture, but they invariably play tag with me, waiting until I am almost within camera range before uttering a cry and taking off, with their legs trailing behind them. This one, however, a splendid specimen, remained put, even when I was exactly opposite it, and let me get plenty of shots, including a couple with its bill opened. I walked on almost as far as Avoncliff, and when I returned twenty-five minutes later the heron was still poised at the same spot.

L.
21.7.2012

Blip #756

Consecutive Blip #000
Day #844

Alternatives:
Churchyard Cat
The Avon At Bathwick
Painting North Parade Bridge
Heron Bill
Canal Near Winsley Hill

A Trip To Bath, 15 July 2012 (Flickr album of 65 images)

Lenses: Pentax 17-70 mm, Sigma 70-300 mm

Heron series

One year ago: Still Life With Purple Shamrock

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.