Three Pagodas

OK - you may observe that this only shows one but Jane and I had a debate who would blip the three pagodas so on this occasion I have uploaded one of the other beautiful temples in the same park.  However I couldn't resist the three as my extra.

We have had an interesting day visiting a market in the village where our hotel is located and a tour of 'Dali Old Town' followed by a humungous lunch in a gorgeous restaurant.  This restaurant was considerably upmarket compared to the one last night.  However,  despite this, the bill only came to £25 for four of us.  I was rather amused by the fact that the bill was for 250RMB and I was given 10 change even though I tendered the correct money.  This was apparently because 250 is an unlucky number.

We touched on political discussions today which was most interesting.  Our guide recommended that we read a book which is banned in China.  He said he would like to read it but he can't.  However 10 minutes after we got back to the hotel I was able to download it to my Kindle using a VPN.  

I told him that the censorship was a complete joke because it was easy to get round it and he said that he had heard that it was possible but he didn't know how.

Our internet here at our current hotel is very fast and using a VPN we can access the BBC without any issues.  I even looked at a website of a Tibetan protest group this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.