Pastoral Island

By graniteman

Lihou Island - Venus Pool

This afternoon Linda and I went for a walk to Lihou island. This can only be reached by a causeway which remains uncovered for two or three hours during certain tidal conditions. It was a nice sunny afternoon and quite a few people were crossing over. The island is about forty acres and takes half an hour to walk around. There is a ruined priory that used to be linked to Mont Saint Michel. There also used to be an industry producing iodine from seaweed, but that ended in the 1940's. At one time seaweed eating sheep were kept on the island. They originated from small flock of rare seaweed eating sheep from the island of North Ronaldsay in the Orkneys.
The blip I have taken is of a rockpool known as the 'Venus Pool', which is quite deep and often used by bathers. My blip doesn't quite show the scale of the pool. There is another Venus pool in Sark which was painted by the artist William Toplis who lived there and the hue and angles of the rocks in my picture reminded me of the Toplis painting. I was hoping to introduce some authenticity into my blip, but I was unable to get Linda to reprise the role of Venus however ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.