The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Leaving NZ

I had one last dinner with my family and they gave me this awesome bracelet made from dark NZ jade. I went for a quick drink with my friend Vanessa and then my uncle and aunt drove me to the airport. 

I was a bit worried that my carry on bags would be over the weight but that wasn't the problem. Instead, the lady at the check in desk looked puzzled as she scanned my passport. I asked her what was wrong and she said that either her computer wasn't working or I don't have a visa for Australia. I was a bit confused as I didn't think I needed a visa. I soon realised my mistake. This was my fourth time to Australia. I don't think I needed a visa for the first couple of times as they were over 10 years ago. Then last year I had my working holiday visa. I just didn't think to check. Luckily I could go to Flight Center and buy a visa there for the same price. It only took 10 minutes and I had plenty of time to spare. Phew!

It was a four hour flight to Melbourne and I was picked up at midnight by my lovely friend Emily and her boyfriend Max. They had kindly offered me their spare room for a few days. Their apartment is amazing! Even better are their two adorable kittens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.