Migraine and rainfall

Second back-blip.

For the first three days of the retreat I had a migraine, so my sitting times were full of “sloth and torpor,” as Buddhists call it: sleepiness, fogginess, grogginess. Throbbing head and nausea. So I was glad we did more walking than sitting. At least when I was walking I didn’t fall asleep, and there was all that LIFE. Kamala Masters read a poem by Wendell Berry called “The Sycamore.” Ostensibly it’s about a tree, but for my money it’s about any old being: 

It has risen to a strange perfection
in the warp and bending of its long growth.
It has gathered all accidents into its purpose.

May we all be so wise. Full poem, and it's a terrific one, is here.


It rained, it hailed, and the woods were wet and full of exquisite droplets hanging from every stem and wisp of moss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.