The flowers take a battering

Given the weather conditions this morning in the plant shed when I visited Dunbar Garden Centre, it is perhaps surprising that I have managed to come away with any sharp pictures. As the wind was blowing in from the north straight into the open end of the covered plant area there was scarcely a bloom that was not swaying around, so much so that I did not see any benefit in using my tripod and hand held all of my shots , ratcheting up the ISO to combat the wild movement with a high shutter speed. Composing shots was definitely hit and miss so I was pleased enough to come way with even a couple of decent shots. As the dahlias have slightly sturdier stems their movement was maybe less wild. Having returned yesterday from Lisbon where the temperature was above 20 C, it felt like a baptism of fire ( or should I say a bucket of ice water). Outside the covered plant room there was sleet and hale.  Brrrr..... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.