HareBrain

By HareBrain

The Beeman

Roy  My music buddy and very dear friend  who I dropped in to see this morning with a sheaf of sheet music for the band we play in.  As I was knocking on the door I noticed a very dozy Bee hugging a very soggy Pansy flower and looking worse for wear.  When Roy came to the door I commented on the Bee and he said ... 'Oh, it's a BumbleBee Queen, she's probably just woken up in this wintery weather we're having at the moment, she's cold and hungry and lacking in energy'    'I'll pick her up' he continued 'and take her inside for a warm and something to eat'.  I said ....  'but she'll sting you'.  Roy said ....  'only if she feels threatened'  ...............  I said ' well, if someone prodded me in the abdomen when I was cold and hungry and half asleep, I probably would!!'  but he picked her up very delicately and she didn't sting.  When we were indoors he popped her down on the kitchen work surface,  put a little honey on the end of a spoon and .... voila, here you have it, one rejuvenated Queen BumbleBee. 

Although I had a very bad night with minimum sleep due to coughing, wheezing etc., etc.  I vowed not to give in to the sofa and instead went on a recce of our next caravan site in South Shropshire, not too far from the Gliding Club actually!! as we have an invitation to the Hang Glider Club's Annual Dinner (they operate on the other side of the hill from the Gliding Club) in a couple of weeks' time. The Caravan Site was really lovely and very rural so I've booked it for a day or two.  It's handy too as the Pub we are going to for the dinner is in easy walking distance there, and back!. 

Extra. So not to forget FlowerFriday so kindly hosted by BikerBear:   Wood Anemones by the stream at the future caravan site.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.