Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Award Winning!

I’ve been looking forward to tonight ever since my birthday back in January when Spokes presented me with tickets to see one of my favourite bands, The Young ‘Uns.

I last blipped about one of their gigs back in July (www.blipfoto.com/entry/2073756164419487840 ) and, as fate will have it, the next time I’ll see them will be NEXT July – in Vancouver! Yes!

Earlier this week they were named Best Group at the prestigious BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, for the second year on the trot, at a star-studded ceremony at the Albert Hall – and they richly deserved the honour.

Without wishing to completely reiterate what I said about them last summer, they really do provide one of the most entertaining nights out it’s possible to have. Their talent as singers/musicians and Sean Cooney’s talent as a songwriter combined with their warmth, wit and irreverence once again had audience members gasping in awe at their harmonies one minute and spitting their drinks out because they were laughing so hard the next. As well as plenty of old favourites they played several excellent new songs which bode very well for their next album whenever it comes out...

Do see them if you ever get the chance – even if you think you don’t like folk music! Meanwhile, you can see the video for The Streets of Lahore here... www.youtube.com/watch?v=uunA6mgXHDo

Support act, Irish Mythen, was also well worth seeing. My oh my but that woman can belt out a tune! In fact, when she joined the Young 'Uns at the end of the night for their encore of 'The Auld Triangle', it prompted a nearby bloke to utter, in reverential tones "That was the best thing I've ever heard. Ever!"

After the show I had a brief chat with the chaps and they kindly agreed to strike a pose for me once again. Thanks Sean, David and Michael!

An added excitement this evening was that I got to meet Neil Ferguson, a member of one of my all-time favourite bands, the mighty and much missed (by me at least...) Chumbawamba! Neil is a great producer and sound engineer and tonight he was doing the sound for the gig. I think he was a bit startled when I went over and asked to take his picture (see my Extra Photo) but after I'd gushed rather embarrassingly about my love for the Chumbas, he bowed to the inevitable. Cheers, Neil!


In other news, poor old Ma Booknerd had a fall earlier this week and broke her hip. She’s now had a hip replacement and will have to stay in hospital for another week or so but she seems to be doing pretty well, all things considered. I’m relieved that Goatee, LOL and ‘Appy will be able to see her this weekend and I hope to see her myself before too long. Get well soon, Ma! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.