Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Stinger on a stinger

My husband is away this evening with work - well, actually he is over in Yorkshire pretending to work! He's supposed to be doing competitor shopping checks along the route of the Tour de Yorkshire, but I am sure he will be out and about trying to spot the cyclists as they whizz by :)

After a very wet morning, the afternoon turned out to be lovely and sunny, so I took my first trip out in the new car and went to Lunt Meadows in search of some new birds.

I managed 20 species today, with two new ones to add to my list - the Black tailed godwit and the Black-necked Grebe. Unfortunately both were far too far away for a decent shot. That's the trouble with Lunt Meadows - everything is so far away. I know it's for the good of the wildlife, but it's annoying not to be able to capture them.
I also saw plenty of lapwings and swallows swooping around, and some oystercatchers which I like as their orange beaks are fun.

This is my first blip of an insect and it just happened to be on the nettles when I was taking the shot. Turned out OK I thought.

Hope everyone else managed to catch some sun today, even if only briefly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.