Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Cheeky Girl

Shot through the wire of the coup this cheeky girl wasn't sure what to make of me kneeling on the wet lawn sporting a camera. Hubs and I have both missed having chickens in the garden after the sad demise of the last lot with the fox, so it was only a matter of time before we started again with a new flock albeit small.

At 16 weeks old these pullets have lost their fluffy cuteness and are waiting to grow into beautiful adults with the most colourful red and gold vibrant feathers.This Cotswold Goldline is a hybrid - a cross between a Rhode Island Red and a Light Sussex due to give 330 plus eggs in her first year I'm reliably informed. 

I chose her and her sister because they are one of the most friendly hens apparently eating out of your hand within hours, although what really nailed it was their inquisitive and cheeky nature! Hubs chose his favourites too but those are for another blip.

We bought 6 in all of different types, laying different coloured eggs which will be interesting. Nothing like a fresh egg, golden yolk knowing exactly what they've been fed on. Am sitting here at my desk looking at them in the coup slightly bemused not knowing where to roost at the moment though a couple have wended their way up the stairs to go to bed and I'm sure the others will cotton on shortly as it's getting dusk. ....There is now just one not getting the gist of roosting upstairs and I think I'm going to be despatched to crawl in to sort it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.