Daily Wild

By emyjane

Louie Alert

I have probably used this same title now on many occasions - but Louie is so alert at the moment, he's so busy feeding his chicks in the nest, but always so aware of everything else going on around him and I'm so glad he is, as one of my beautiful tame female blackbirds - Kelly - was taken by a female sparrowhawk today right in front of my very eyes, her cries of fright and distress in it's claws will stay with me for a long time, as I could do nothing to stop this - I know it's nature - but she really is too cruel at times and it doesn't bare thinking about it all over Louie - Larry was lost to predation, I really don't want to go through another one...  So Louie is right to be cautious and it just drove it home that sparrowhawks are too bold for their own good, she  must have known I was there, but it didn't stop her quest for her own meal this afternoon.  RIP beautiful Kelly xxx  Long Live Louie!  xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.