But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Oooh - Buggrit.

Posted 30th April.


The day started badly. I could see the problem from the kitchen – a flat tyre. From then on the day got worse. I had removed the wheel to document the damage and intended to leave it at the garage to be changed while I carried on with my life, a task that required the use of the car. But it seemed both rear tyres should be changed as they were both near the ends of their lives so, rather than drive around on three wheels, I hung around while the work was done. Consequently, I was late checking the bee hives (they’re both fine with about three frames of healthy brood each, o.k. for this time of the year - and flying vigorously), and late arriving back home.
 
Then I needed to have some lunch and check tonight’s film (Brooklyn); a task that includes finding a suitable place for the very necessary interval – needed to extract more money from our clientele in exchange for refreshments. My computer took in the DVD, made some crunching noises, wouldn’t play it and wouldn’t give it back. I did eventually retrieve the disk after abusing the drive with various engineering tools, but there were some trivial looking scuff marks on the disk. Put it in our DVD player which refused to recognize its existence. Brooklyn is a new film and so should be stocked by most supermarkets, so with only a few hours before the performance, one hour of which is required to set up the equipment, I rushed out to purchase a new copy. Arrived home, and that one wouldn’t work either.
 
After taking advice from the cinema management, Mrs TD and myself went back to the supermarket for a third copy and, armed with all of them and an assortment of unlicenced films in case of emergency, arrived in time to prepare for the performance.
 
All three copies of the film were fine, our very expensive, do everything DVD payer must be buggered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.