May Morning

I’ve never before blipped May Morning!
 
Over the years, like hundreds of other people, I have hauled myself out of bed early on 1 May (regardless of the day of the week) and walked with the hordes to the High Street. Like everyone else, I’ve fallen silent just before 6am to hear Magdalen College choir singing from the top of Magdalen Tower. It’s a tradition that’s been going on for over 500 years.
 
This morning a friend took me to the spot by the river where she goes to listen. As soon as we turned from the main road onto the towpath we saw mist over the river, gleaming orange in the low sun. On the other side of the river the mist hung over the meadow too, silhouetting grazing cattle. Beyond that we could see the top of Magdalen College tower.
 
We talked quietly until the Hymnus Eucharistus floated clearly above the mist and over the river. Magical. No shushing, no, jostling, just music and the birds. We heard the bells ringing May in, we heard people in the High Street clapping, we heard the May morning prayer then the choir singing madrigals.
 
Then we shook ourselves and made our way into town where in various places around the city centre bands play (extra), dancers dance and people crowd into cafes and pubs for breakfast – often beer for those who’ve stayed up all night, as many do.
 
On a weekday most people disperse by about 8.30 to get to work or college but today we stayed chatting over coffee for at least an hour longer. A lovely lingering way to start May.
 
One year, I guess, other people will find out about this place.


Edit. Posted early because I wanted to queue for returns for Bellowhead's last ever gig - in the same place as their first ever, Oxford Town Hall.

And..

I'm in! I'm in! I'm in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.