vacillating bit

The warm bit became the cold bit very rapidly as clouds flitted by the sun. At one point the sudden gusting and drop in temperature had me dropping my spoke key and grabbing the washing in, though it might have been OK for another hour. Whilst Edgar was at swimming I managed to get the wheel I fitted together last night up to almost-proper tension, using the old old frame as a truing-stand. One more evening's spare time should see it completed and threadlocked, though there's still the matter of removing the tyre from the old wheel (unless I call the old wheel a spare and leave it fully tyred-up, though it's a shame to have to spend on a new tyre what I saved by getting round to building the wheel myself after the rim had spent a year in a box in the wardrobe). Besides, I wanted to use the old wheel as a winter wheel and leave it in the shed with tube and 38mm spikes (also in a box in the wardrobe since March 2015) fitted after checking that the 38mm spikes will fit in the frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.