Tarawera Times

By Megl

Beauty in death

like stained glass windows
the wings of the dragon fly
motionless in death

Thanks to Nikkimags888 for hosting Mono Monday with today's theme of Wings.

The extra is of a bit of drama at the lake this afternoon when a garden shed containing fuel and lawn mowers caught fire. Ian and our neighbour were out fishing when they saw the fire and heard the alarm, Derek is a member of our local fire brigade, so I got the call to meet them at the bay by the Fire Station. They tied the boat up on the jetty, Derek donned his gear and I drove them to the fire. A number of engines arrived but thankfully they were able to quickly get it under control before it spread. I couldn't get near the fire as it was down a long driveway, but I rather liked this shot of the engine parked beside the sign advising of Fire Brigade Practice tonight - I think they had enough this afternoon!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.