It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Aberlady

I thought we were going for a swim at Portobello in the morning but R decided that bed was a better option than a freezing cold sea swim. I didn’t need too much convincing otherwise.
Rather, we headed to Ainslie Park slightly later in the day and got a decent session in. The water was too warm for me and it took a while to get my mind tuned in but it happened eventually.
 
Rosemary wanted to get a long run after lunch and I wanted a walk. We decided at the last moment to jump on a bus to Aberlady. She could run and I could play with my camera that way. My walk was a great one. I sat watching a giant heron for ages who was on the hunt for a fish as a pair of tufted ducks bobbed about. There were also these little birds who would fly high, beating their wings like a hummingbird, stop, and the start again, thus maintaining their position in the sky.
 
I had wandered aimlessly for too long, so had to up my pace to the beach with just enough time to have a look in the rock pools. I tried to surprise a limpet by creeping up and then attempting to kick it off a rock, but hurt my toe. It takes great skill to dislodge one from a rock and I didn’t have time to practice.
 

I got to Gullane right around when I was expecting Rosemary back. I heard the call “Andeeee” and saw a flappy wave. Timing had been impeccable. The downside was that we would just catch our bus…….I half hoped that we would have just missed it so I could relieve my salty throat with a nice pint of beer!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.