stujphoto

By stujphoto

Chasing House Martins....

Many times I have tried to capture a flock of house  martins as they swoop over Seafield Pond. I have never been successful with my SLRs as the move about so quickly and are too small to get an autofocus reading. I thought I would try again today as there were a group of them ducking and diving over the pool this afternoon using the 4K capture that my new compact has as a feature. Trying to shoot them up in the air is hopeless because of the difficulties of autofocusing . However, I decided to focus on a swan and a couple of duck on the water and take a few seconds of 4K capture in the hope that one or more of them might fly in to the line of focus. It was almost impossible to tell in camera whether I had achieved this and I had to wait until I was reviewing shots on the computer to check. They fly past so fast that if you blink you will miss them but there were one or two sequences where I spotted a house martin shooting past. With the 4K feature you can break this down into individual frames and choose which ever is the best for a still frame. so I want you to look very carefully to spot the most 'insignificant object' in the image as that was the true aim of my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.