Family

Family.

It's all rather wonderful.

Thankfully for Ben, I won't be best man due to his dearest pal Jake having been given that future job many years ago. This is just as well for the happy couple as the last time I fulfilled this pivotal role I appeared to alienate the whole audience with my highly amusing comical stories. Looking back I can see that starting any best mans speech with the line 'as I was waiting outside the colonic irrigation unit of the Retford beauty parlour...' was always going to be problematic.

I built the speech up from there to heights that would have been hard even for Edmund Hillary to scale, but when even I realised that the crowd were not for wooing, I cut the comedy masterclass and fell into 10 minutes of praising the bride and her family. Did I rescue the situation? I think you can guess.

Photo courtesy of the happy couple.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.