Mono Monday : : Wings

I have spent many hours lurking near the suet feeder trying to catch the raven, which is too big to perch, leaping and flapping its way up to it and grabbing a morsel. All to no avail. Usually I am doing something else when I see his giant shadow pass the window, and by the time I get my camera, he has flown off. There is at least a pair of these big birds nesting in the oak trees, but they never fly in a direct line from the nest to the food but in great diversionary circles around the house so as not to broadcast the location of the nest.

Today, the challenge of "wings" spurred me on to greater effort. I had both cameras lined up and discovered that neither one was perfect. One has a very fast shutter, but not a very good zoom lens, the other has a good lens but an abysmally slow shutter. I confirmed all this as I sat unmoving outside on the porch. I must have waited and watched all the bird life for 45 minutes and all I got for my efforts was dozens of empty frames or distant blurs,  so I finally gave up and went inside. No sooner than I close the door than he was back. 

There were other challenges than wings…the lighting, the windows, the constant movement and the camera with the slow shutter but I  managed one grainy shot through the dirty window. stickers and all….The blurriest bits are the opaque stickers all over the windows to keep the birds from flying into them.

Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.