Here we go again (again)

By kevmersh

Outlon Park Diary

Day 2

My traveling companion was confined to his sleeping bag - I won't be too graphic, lets just say he put it down to a bad pint!
I wasn't letting anything get in the way of me seeing the bikes, so I left him to it , and headed off to the track.

It started off cold & wet, and didn't really get much better. I'm always impressed by these guys at the best of times, but in these conditions, they are something extra special. On the road, I am always cautious in the wet, but it's their job to ride fast, and a little moisture isn't going to stop them.

At this point I should point out that a competitive British Superbike, puts over 200bhp through it's back tyre, and the rubber-to-tarmac contact patch is roughly the size of a credit card!


This shot is from the final practice session. It's 23 year old Luke Mossey accelerating up the Clay Hill section of the circuit, which kinks left before braking for the right handed Druids bend. He's accelerating hard in 4th gear and probably doing about 130mph. In a downpour. He finished 20th in the session, meaning there were 19 riders who did this even faster!!

The courage of these guys never fails to impress me.

Keep an eye on my flick page HERE for more shots

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.