Leiflife

By Leiflife

Over The Rainbow

I am never over the rainbow about choosing art to donate for the silent auction at the annual Walter Anderson Museum GALA. I always have difficulty seeing the work that has accumulated over the year. My critical eye makes everything look like mud, or like childish scribbles that couldn't possibly be good enough. And besides, lately I only paint dancing naked woman. Rarely the nature scenes that everyone loves and pounces on so readily. So as the artist's party draws nearer, I put off framing what I already have and used to like and finally draw something new, hurriedly spray with varnish on the morning of the party and frame it. I also photographed it and include it in my extras.

The women checking in the art at the party loved my fiery spur of the moment drawing, not in the least deterred by the fact that it is still of a naked dancing woman. I like her, too, and relax and enjoy the delicious catered food: crawfish bisque, pasta salad, chicken salad on croissants and even a watered down glass of wine. Visited with a young dancer teaches at my daughter's Yoga studio, and with a French woman who encouraged me to return to Paris. I knew exactly when it was time to leave, saying my goodnights to the director, Rosemary, and hinting at an idea I had about dancing at the museum.

It was on my way home that I saw the rainbow and the marvelous light that the spilled upon marsh and trees. Still a bit tipsy from the wine, I parked my car on the side of the road, and stood in a gentle rain to photograph this marvelous affirmation of the day. Then I followed the rainbow to the beach, and found a very different scene to capture my  eye. The rain was deliciously fresh and chilly as I stood in my lacey dress-up clothes and absorbed the beauty.

Another extra of the tide pools in the dying light...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.