CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Moth eggs on the cabin's window frame

It is another Tiny Tuesday Challenge day and I knew my subject ever since I spotted these tiny little cells last week. I think they are probably the eggs of a moth some of which appear to have hatched, although I have no idea when that might have happened. They were laid on the inside of a cedar wood window frame  in our garden cabin.

A couple of years ago I observed a similar set of eggs just after they had been laid and I blipped the actual moth beside them, which was identified as a Swallow-tail Moth – Ourapteryx sambucaria.

These eggs span a total distance of about 10mm (ie 1cm) from left to right, and as you can see some of the cells are empty, whilst others still have cap on them the line of which you might just be able to identify.

I've added the original image, before I cropped it, in the 'Extra photos' which shows the window catch on the cedar wood frame which provides a sense of the scale.

Many thanks to Jensphotos for hosting the May editions of the Tiny Tuesday Challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.