Nightingale

Hand over my eyes squinting against the sunlight on a deeply rutted muddy track in the quiet of the late afternoon I could hear nightingales in the coppiced wood and was scouring the hedges with Tilly. Yes I was happy!

It's been 2 years since I've captured one on camera and I can't tell you how exquisite it was to hear their call - the 'chook-chook-chook' echoing over the trees  was unmistakable. The rusty-red tail and wings could occasionally be seen ghostly flying through the woods but close up to get a shot...........

They build their nests near to the floor, carefully concealed in the thick undergrowth and if it wasn't for their song it would be even more difficult to clock their whereabouts! I took nearly 300 shots today in the woods of marsh tits, great tits, blue tits, squirrels, coal tits but actually getting this in frame made me smile. She is smiling too :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.