Hyacinths

The best part about coming home yesterday was seeing all my hyacinths and daffodils blooming! They're at their peak right now, so I'm glad I didn't miss the display!  
My sister called me last night to ask if I'd consider coming up to Sheboygan this morning, as Ben's school (Ben is the youngest of her 6 children & is in 8th grade) was celebrating "grandparents day", & my sister felt bad because in those 8 years he's never had grandparents there for the celebration. Our parents have been gone 8 & 10 years respectively, my sister's father-in-law for longer than that, and her mother-in-law, who is alive and well, feels it's too stressful to deal with children, even mostly grown ones & her only wish is to be left alone. Her loss!! So of course I went, & was rewarded with a big hug and kiss by Ben, a tour of his classroom, met his teacher then went to the gym for coffee and snacks. Ben said I'd always been his favorite aunt, & that I still would have been his favorite even if I hadn't come, but he was so happy I had! Almost made me cry! What a sweetheart!!   :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.