allen

left Fort Worth this afternoon about 2:30 and rolled in to Austin around 5:30. right on time.

Andrew and Emily hosted their grand going away party here in Austin this evening. they head out for their new life in Florida next week. tomorrow, i will go pay tribute to my friend Ryan. yes, this Austin trip is to be a celebration of friends, of life. that simple. that beautiful.

so, this is Allen. some of you may recognize him from that TV show he is on. but he's been a friend of AJ and Emily's for a quite a while, so he showed up to the party tonight, along with a lot of other old acquaintances, many that I have not seen for several years: Devin, Garrett, Ed, and such (and Kathryn showed up tonight for a bit as well--she's in town on school business). but I hadn't seen Allen in a few years. we'd ridden bikes once or twice, met out and about in Austin a couple of times, when I'd lived in this town. he is one of those people that I wish I had known better during my time here. sad, in some fashion, how all the people come and go, fly through our lives. but it was good to see him and so many other familiar faces tonight.

indeed, a rip roaring good time, full of Texas beer and pulled pork sandwiches (among other things). Austin, man. this place does have some magic. though, i must say, as Leah is not here, I do miss her and the little home we've established in Fort Worth. I am thinking of her now, as I heard things chirp, and cats cry. this chorus will serenade me to sleep on the enveloping couch here at Andrew and Emily's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.