Negotiating the wash out

A great day to tramp to the Magdelan Hut.

As is sometimes the case we came across a section of the track washed out about 20 minutes from the hut. I quite like the rough scramble and narrow edge to follow above fast flowing river. Not necessarily a perspective shared by my companions.

A surprisingly warm day. It's above freezing and at this time of year in this part of the country, that's almost tropical. I can't remember the last time I tramped wearing only 2 layers of merino on my top half. I often have at least 2 additional layers. I still wore gloves and a warm head band. We've passed through areas with large patches of old snow and the ground has often been frozen or partially frozen.

Magdelan hut is a 6 bunk standard hut but it has a little more luxury than the standard DOC (Department of Conservation) standard hut. We have double glazing, insect screens, an excellent wood supply and a water tank with tap just outside the door. Luxury indeed! Oh, and a long drop built on a massive concrete pad.

Not bad for $5 a night.

Only the 4 of us in the hut tonight. We're warm, dry, comfortable and enjoying the camaraderie tramping forms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.