Kendall is here

By kendallishere

A perfectly splendid, very good day

After delivering Bella to school this morning, I stopped at the grocery store, and as I was leaving, Ursula LeGuin strolled in with a grocery list in her hand and her kindly husband following behind with a cart. I smiled and nodded to them both, feeling lucky to live in a place where you can run into Ursula LeGuin at 9:30 of a Tuesday morning. Then I had about half an hour to read Blip comments before leaving for my workout session; then barely enough time to drink a Mamma Chia before driving out to Bella’s school again, and the rest of the day unfolded between us. To the library, where I cast my primary election ballot and felt very lucky to live in a state that votes by mail (and where you can even save yourself from having to use a stamp by dropping the ballot off at the library). I picked up a few more books for Bella. To Target, now famous for refusing to specify gender on its public toilets, to buy a set of Peppa Pig action figures. Home to make a late lunch, to play with Bella, and to make an early dinner. Heard the good news that Bernie took Indiana. And somehow the sun was going down and it was bath time for Bella, and I hadn’t taken a photograph all day, nor did I have a chance to respond to comments nor to comment on anyone else's Blips. So here you have Bella at 9 p.m. blow-drying her hair in her Wonder Woman night gown, squinting and grinning at the end of a perfectly splendid, very good day. And I'm finished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.