Black-tailed Godwit

Unusual in winter here, Black-tailed Godwits are always a sign of summer arriving, especially when in their summer finery as this group were. About forty of them were feeding voraciously on the machair on Baleshare. Being unusual up here, they deserved a second glance and when I did that I spotted that three were colour ringed, including the one on the left in this image.
Long grass and an intervening fence (which sadly makes an appearance in the image) did not make it too easy but eventually I think I got to grips with the various combinations of colours, as well as spotting another of the group had just a metal ring.
Since then I've been trying to track them down and so far know that two were probably ringed in Iceland and the other, indeed the one in the image, was probably ringed on the south coast of England. More details will I am sure follow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.