RIP Feathers

This is an old photo, one of my favourites with the budgies! I had to rush Feathers to the vet this evening, we found him on his side with apparent paralysis down one side, cheeping in a very distressed manner! It happened so suddenly, he was fine about half an hour before as I had been in cleaning! It was only when we went back in to give Kiki her injection that we heard his distress! The vet very kindly waited, as they were about to leave for the evening, as I rushed up with him! I thought I lost him in the car at one point as he went very quiet, but he was still with me! As soon as the vet had a look at him I could see on his face that he couldn't help, I made the incredibly difficult decision to have him put to sleep! The vet was ready to take him through to the back to do it, but I wanted to be with him, so I held him! It was almost instantaneous, I was so surprised how quickly he passed! Lewis couldn't come with me as he was just getting ready to leave for work and Kiki still needed her injection, so I had to make the decision by myself! Honestly, I've always wondered if I could, I love my pets so much and I would never want them to suffer, but I wasn't sure if I'd be too selfish at the time, but seeing how distressed he was, it was clearly the only thing to do! I'm so upset, but I'm glad we found him, he didn't suffer more than he had to! I brought him home and let Tilly see his body, I think it's important that they have closure! I let Kiki and Hubert see too, as they lived in the same room! We will bury him tomorrow!

This picture is the only time I ever managed to get to hold all three budgies at the same time! Murdoch is the wee green budgie on my head, he passed away a couple of years ago! Feathers is the wee grey fella on the right, he was a special character! Tilly is my wee blue girl, the oldest and only one still with me!

Sorry for so much detail, it helps me to write it down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.