Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Molly's Mountain Love

It’s been months since I’ve been up Pen y Fan so decided to go up there this morning.  I tested my legs by going up Storey Arms way and climbing on to Corn Du first.  It was a glorious day for it.  Bumped into a mate on the drop down from Corn Du to Pen y Fan and we had a good chat.

Contemplated life on the summit of Pen y Fan as I drank my hot chocolate and had a snack.  I love mountain time, it helps put things into perspective.

As I made my way down this little springer spaniel came towards me.  I stopped and had a good chat with her owner, Molly was an autistic assistance dog, helping kids who have autism.  She was lovely, and had so much love to give, it made me long for another dog.

I decided to descend via the motorway, the very busy path up from the other side of Storey Arms.  I was left feeling cold and alone, as groups of people came past me, no smiles, no acknowledgement of my presence and smiles in return.  It felt at times that they were staring straight through you.  These are not typical walkers, the walking community, whilst liking the solitude of mountains, regularly acknowledge other walkers.

We could learn a lot from dogs, little Molly was full of love and so friendly, for her life is about living, enjoyment and social interaction.  It’s a pity some people don’t have the same attitude.

BACK BLIPS:

Sunday - Damp

Monday - Clear Out

Tuesday - Whose Team are you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.